VMAPAC Industrial Strength Leadership Award Winners




DATE: October 30, 2019                                                   

CONTACT:  Kimberly Noonan, 804. 643.7489



VMAPAC 2019 Industrial Strength Leadership Awards


RICHMOND, VA– The Virginia Manufacturers Association Political Action Committee (VMAPAC) and Virginia Manufacturers Association (VMA) awarded this year’s VMAPAC Industrial Strength Leadership Award to Delegates Byron, Edmunds, Fariss, Ransone, Ware, Wright and Senators Black, Chafin, Petersen, Suetterlein, Stanley and Sturtevant.

The VMA Industrial Strength Leadership Award was created by the VMA’s Political Action Committee (VMAPAC) in 2003 to recognize Virginia Delegates and Senators who demonstrate exceptional support for a pro-manufacturing agenda as measured by their most recent legislative session voting record.  The Award recognizes the top three vote scoring Senators and Delegates, as measured by the new VMAPAC Legislative Competitiveness Scorecard, for their exemplary commitment to Virginia manufacturing competitiveness. 46 VMA priority and defensive priority bills were scored this year to determine the percentage of votes cast in agreement with the VMA position. The Award is not a blanket endorsement of any candidate or political party; rather, it is an honored designation for a legislator at a specific point in time for all manufacturers and allies to recognize.

The VMAPAC 2019 Industrial Strength Leadership Award winners scored as follows on the VMAPAC 2019 Legislative Competitiveness Scorecard:

·         88% – Delegate Matt Fariss

·         88% – Delegate Margaret Ransone

·         87% – Delegate Tommy Wright

·         86% – Delegate Kathy Byron

·         86% – Delegate James Edmunds

·         86% – Delegate Lee Ware

·         90% – Senator David Suetterlein

·         89% – Senator Bill Stanley

·         89% – Senator Glenn Sturtevant

·         85% – Senator Dick Black

·         85% – Senator Ben Chafin

·         85% – Senator Chap Petersen


Winners will be presented with a distinctive award bearing the award icon, an image of Hermes, the Greek god of commerce, in their legislative districts.  Hermes was chosen as the award icon because his duties included the making of treaties, promotion of commerce, and maintenance of free rights-of-way for travelers.  He was believed to be responsible for both good luck and wealth.  His distinguishing qualities were cunning, ingenuity, knowledge and creativity.  These are all factors representative of industrial strength leadership.