130 Manufacturing Women Honored At Annual Step Ahead Awards Hosted By The Manufacturing Institute

130 Manufacturing Women Honored At Annual Step Ahead Awards Hosted By The Manufacturing Institute.

The Manufacturing Institute (4/11) issues a press release stating that that the STEP Ahead Award “recognizes women in manufacturing who exemplify leadership within their companies,” and it “identifies the best of the best women in the manufacturing industry, and further encourages women to mentor and support the next generation of female talent to pursue manufacturing careers.” At the ceremony, “the Institute recognized 100 Honorees and 30 Emerging Leaders, a category that represents women under the age of 30 who have demonstrated leadership early in their careers.” The release quotes Manufacturing Institute Executive Director Carolyn Lee saying at the event, “Manufacturing means honoring the people who built this country yesterday, supporting those who continue to do so today, and giving more Americans the opportunity to do so tomorrow. I’m convinced that the more girls and women hear their stories about what modern manufacturing looks like and what’s possible in it, the more they’ll dare to dream of what they can do in manufacturing too. And the women we’ve honored have the potential to inspire a new generation of manufacturers.” NAM President and CEO Jay Timmons is also quoted, saying at that gala, “Manufacturing in America will not be as strong as it can be until it better represents the women of America. I believe that we will reach our fullest potential when we have more women in the ranks of manufacturing leadership. That is the mission of STEP Ahead.”

Politico (4/11, Levine) reports in its “spotted” section that “the National Association of Manufacturers’ Manufacturing Institute’s 2018 STEP Ahead Awards Gala at the National Building Museum on Wednesday night” was attended by “Carolyn Lee of The Manufacturing Institute [and] Jay Timmons of the National Association of Manufacturers,” as well as “Reps. Adrian Smith (R-Neb.), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Grace Napolitano (D-CA), Collin Peterson (D-MN) and Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI).”